| Views:991

Accreditations Explained: What Do All These Badges Mean?


Accreditations Explained: What Do All These Badges Mean?

photo Quickslide

Accreditations Explained: What Do All These Badges Mean?

Whenever you choose a product for your next home improvements project, there are various logos, certificates, marks and numbers attached with it. Whether you are an installer who wants to look out for the best products or a homeowner who wants to understand more about these logos, this guide made by Quickslide experts will help you understand accreditations.

Some of these certificates are mandatory by law in UK and include setting standards for attributes such as quality, thermal performance and security. Other certifications are voluntary and require regular assessment to indicate their performance level. By showcasing these accreditations, homeowners can have peace of mind that they have chosen high-quality products.

Secured by Design

Despite not being obligatory, Secured by Design is a worthwhile accreditation to have. It is a police initiative set up by the ACPO (Association of Chief Police) that aims to protect households and their surroundings. It is a product-based certification scheme that tests whether products meet their set standards and can reduce crime.

In order to become a member of Secured by Design, there needs to be regular testing and certification for several product categories. The assessment needs to be overseen by an official UKAS body for the product to be approved. To obtain the certification, there needs to be testing for quality assurance.

PAS 24

Whilst Secured by Design isn’t mandatory, the PAS 24 accreditation is often required in most circumstances. PAS 24 is a minimum security standard that doors and windows must meet. This gives additional reassurance to homeowners that their new installations meet the latest security regulations.

You may see PAS 24:2016 listed on websites, which is the latest update of the PAS 24 standard, which gets reviewed every five years. Manufacturers and installers must send off their products to a test house for thorough assessments to achieve this certification. Once the windows and doors have passed and are deemed fit for purpose, they can be marketed as PAS 24 accredited.


FENSA is a government-authorised scheme that audits replacement windows and doors to check that they comply with the latest building regulations. By being members of FENSA, installers can ensure that their products are energy efficient, meet regulations and are registered with their local council.

There is a regular assessment to ensure that if there are any updated standards they these are being maintained. Homeowners may also see a Certass logo, a scheme that checks companies competencies against set standards. Not having one of these accreditations requires going to the local building control to sign off any project.


The BFRC is also known as the British Fenestration Rating Council, which confirms the energy performance of doors and windows. Our distinctive rainbow rating graphic is most recognisable across homeowners in the UK. The energy rating is finalised through an assessment of heat loss, solar gain and air leakage.

As well as the energy ratings, the BFRC now offer noise reduction ratings which can be a valuable asset for any window and door. Homeowners will be familiar with energy ratings. However, it is worth mentioning the importance of U-values. This result measures the rate of heat transfer through a structure that can affect any property’s insulation.

CE Marking

The CE Marking is a legal requirement that manufacturers must obtain to confirm that their products meet the latest European health, safety and environmental standards. For installers, it is good practice to check that your supplier can provide the CE Markings for their products. This will indicate that their products:

» Meet the EU safety, health or environmental requirements

» Complies with EU legislation

» Have free movement within the European market.

You may have more questions about the changes with Brexit and how this affects the CE Markings. You can find thorough and detailed information on the Government website, which will let you know about any relevant changes.

CENSolutions CMS Certificates

CENSolutions are the largest product quality certification supplier in the UK. Some of the certifications include CE Marking, Toughened Glass and Quality Management. You may recognise some of these third-party accreditations that manufacturers can obtain:

» PAS 24:2016: Enhance Security:

» BS EN 1279: Insulated Glass Units

» BS 6375: Weather Testing

This is an efficient way for manufacturers to obtain certifications that are either a legal requirement or enhance their products. Regular testing ensures that the products are continually tested to meet any standard updates.

#windows, #FENSA, #PAS24, #SecuredbyDesign, #BFRC, #CE

NGA Board of Directors Invite You to GlassBuild America 2021

NGA Board of Directors Invite You to GlassBuild America 2021

Members of the NGA Board of Directors sent personalized...

High rise solution from Epwin Window Systems

High rise solution from Epwin Window Systems

Replacing windows on high rise blocks is typically an...

August 17 Webinar to Review AAMA Hardware Standards, Updates

August 17 Webinar to Review AAMA Hardware Standards, Updates

The Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance (FGIA)...

FIT Show 2021 moves to May 2022

FIT Show 2021 moves to May 2022

FIT Show organisers have announced the further...

» More on the subportal Industry News